To learn more about MGIMO University please visit Wiki Page and the Official MGIMO University Website

2013 Annual MGIMO Alumni Reunion in NYC!

2013 Annual MGIMO Alumni Reunion in NYC!

Meeting, NY Club

The Annual MGIMO Alumni, North America Meeting was held on January 24, 2013.  The reception, which has become a tradition, was held at the Russian General Consulate in NYC.

The organizers of the event – the MGIMO Alumni Association of North America (MAANA) and the MGIMO Club of New York welcomed the alumni from many graduating classes going back as far as the 1960s and 1970s, as well as partners and friends of the Association.

Among the guests attending the meeting were the permanent representative of the Russian Federation to the UN, V. I. Churkin, the Director of the Institute of Democracy and Cooperation in New York, Professor A.M. Migranyan, representatives of the diplomatic corps from the U.N. Secretariat, as well as political and business leaders residing in New York.

The Rector of the MGIMO University, MFA Russian Academician A.V. Torkunov, sent a congratulatory message to the graduates that was announced by the President of the Alumni Association of North America MGIMO, Alexey Manasuyev. Participants were also addressed by the Deputy Consul General, A. V. Pugayev, with a welcoming speech and wishes for the success and further development of the Association.

The informal part of the reception took place in a warm and friendly atmosphere.  Members and guests were invited to view archival photos from the “Alma Mater” history taken by MGIMO International Journalism Chair, I.V Lileyev. Other events included a raffle for MGIMO souvenirs and the cutting of a cake decorated with the MGIMO logo.

The Rector and President of the Association of MGIMO, A.V. Torkunov, presented awards to the most active participants of the MGIMO Association in North America including Member of the Board of Directors, Leyla Megrelidze, Member of the Board of Directors and Treasurer, Lydia Salgado and the Counselor for the Board of Directors, Thaddeus Fortenberry.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *